While there are limited exceptions, the law requires that everyone is paid minimum wage. So, what continues to go wrong? It may be hard to believe, but there are numerous ways that employers can violate minimum wage laws. Fortunately, legal advocates like our Cincinnati minimum wage violation attorneys are here to help. We will take on Ohio businesses that either mistakenly or refuse to follow the laws. If you suspect your employer is breaking the law, contact Coffman Legal to schedule an initial consultation.
In the meantime, we have compiled what you need to know about minimum wage violations in Ohio.
As of January 2021, the minimum wage in Ohio is $8.80 an hour, up ten cents from $8.70 in 2020. The minimum is $4.40 an hour for tipped employees, which is up five cents from $4.35 in 2020. The tipped wage amount is usually about half of the regular full minimum wage amount. Ohio’s minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage amount of $7.25, which has not changed in over a decade. The federal rate for tipped employees is pathetically low at $2.13 an hour. Most Ohio companies are required to pay their employees the full Ohio minimum wage amount, but there are several exceptions. One exception is when the company’s revenue is below the required revenue threshold, which changes yearly. The other exception is when companies legally hire 14- and 15-year-old workers. Those individuals can be paid the federal employee rate amount.
In some cases, employees are not subject to the minimum wage requirement. People who are not typically paid minimum wage can include workers such as: Newspaper delivery people Babysitters Police officers or firefighters Workers employed by the United States Hospital charity workers Nonprofit children camp employees A person who is a live-in companion to an elderly, sick, or convalescing person if their primary duties don’t include housekeeping
When employers don’t pay the minimum wage required, don’t pay wages for a period of time, or they make deductions that reduce an employee’s pay, so it’s under minimum wage. In addition, a company might wrongfully determine that an employee isn’t entitled to the Ohio minimum wage. Employers can apply the wrong tip credit with tipped employees, which puts their pay below the tipped minimum wage. There are other ways that employers can run afoul of the laws, but these are some of the most common ones. These types of violations are especially common in the hotel and restaurant industries.
Ohio law does not look kindly on employers who fail to pay the required minimum wage. If you think you are not being paid fairly, and you aren’t getting the minimum wage you are owed, you need to speak with our Cincinnati minimum wage violation attorneys. Contact Coffman Legal today to schedule an initial consultation.